Mr. Tout's Magical Forest, Book Series, by Len Senecal

Start with Book 1, The Uninvited Guest, and be thrust into a five book series (with an additional one on its way!) that you will not be able to put down.  Crafted by a 1000 Islands native, this series is full of mystery and wonder all written in a prose second to none.

"Originally from Alexandria Bay, New York, Author Len Senecal has been writing things down his entire life, although these days he prefers typing them out on the computer. He started out as a newspaper reporter and editor in high school and college before working as a college sports information director, sports reporter and radio play by play announcer. From there he went on to spend time as a comic book editor, copy editor, English teacher and newspaper and yearbook advisor . . .”

Senecal's official webpage is filled with so many special happenings it is easy to quickly become enthralled. And then, you are introduced to his books.

Each book is described below; these synopses are just the start of the adventures.  

The Uninvited Guest, Book I

The adventure begins when Mariah and her dog Willow follow a unicorn into the woods and land in an enchanted forest where trees, animals and even statues are able to speak and sing. The real problems start when they become separated and must struggle to find their way free from Mr. Tout's Magical Forest, a land of wonderment and danger controlled by a mysterious man named Toddathon Tout.

Fall to the Forest, Book II

The adventure that began in The Uninvited Guest continues as the Wells brothers literally fall into Mr. Tout's Magical Forest during a school field trip to Niagara Falls. Fall to the Forest, Book II of the Mr. Tout's Magical Forest fantasy series, tells the back story of two key characters first introduced in The Uninvited Guest while also developing the major conflicts that will become crucial to their survival as the series unfolds.

Realizing they are no longer admiring the sights at Niagara Falls, older twin Owen is ready to throw caution to the wind in this strange new land while his brother Pauly's approach is far more cautious. Things get real in a hurry when they hear a young girl cry for help, much to the delight of Mr. Toddathon Tout. A mysterious and largely unseen force, the mere mention of his name strikes fear into the inhabitants of the forest. Intrigue, adventure, betrayal and even a touch of romance are intertwined in this exciting journey into the realm of the fantastic. Follow the trials and tribulations of the Wells brothers as they face strange creatures and bizarre situations in a place where seemingly anything is possible.

Marsh Mayhem, Book III

[WARNING-this description contains details about previous books in the series]

When she was twelve years old, Mariah Prindle and her dog Willow accidentally made their way into a strange and mysterious land called Mr. Tout's Magical Forest. Upon leaving, she promised her friend Pauly Wells she would come back and help him rescue his twin brother from the clutches of the evil Toddathon Tout. For two long years she's been trying to fulfill that promise, only to meet with disappointment.

Until now.

Now, on midsummer's eve—the most magical night of the year—Mariah has a plan.  Unlike that accidental first trip, this time she's packed and ready for whatever adventures the forest may have in store. Little does she know that the dangerous and unpredictable magical forest is just the beginning of what awaits her. And it all centers around a mysterious girl turned statue named Beth. Is she a friend to be trusted, or a foe to be feared? That's just one of many questions Mariah will need to answer in order to succeed. Likewise, her friend Pauly may need to place his fate in Beth's cold, marble hands as he seeks to aid his long-lost and wayward brother, Owen.

Meanwhile, Owen has his own set of problems to deal with. Locked in a power struggle that pits the student against the master, he and Toddathon Tout clash heads in what looms as a potential winner take all battle. Emotions run high and danger is just a step away in Book III of this six-part series.

Come back to Mr. Tout's Magical Forest and join Mariah, Willow, Pauly and Rio as they search for answers in a land of danger and delight where uncertainty is the only thing they can be certain of.

The Violet Hour!  Book IV

Can Toddathon Tout be stopped?

Their numbers are few—their quest, enormous—their situation, desperate.
And the fate of the forest lies in the balance.

But desperate times call for desperate measures.
That's why two girls and a boy have formed an unlikely alliance with a dog, a cat and a mysterious whirlcat to take part in the riskiest venture of their lives.

The Violet Hour!

The brainchild of their mystifying new companion, Katriva, does this cryptic spell from Mr. Tout's stolen book of magic hold the key to their success, or is it simply the delusional plan of a confused enchantress?

To find out they'll have to traverse unknown lands and face unforeseen dangers in this fourth installment of the fantasy series, Mr. Tout's Magical Forest. Come join Mariah, Beth, Pauly, Rio and Willow in their struggle to stop the notorious Toddathon Tout!

A Wish to Save Christmas, published November 2022

Santa's head elf Needle has a crisis on his hands, and the clock is ticking toward Christmas. Santa is gone, frozen solid and taken away in a block of ice by an evil woman named Winter Stine. Worse yet, the reindeer are missing, the elves' spirits are in tatters, and the North Pole is in disarray. With help from an enchanted Father Frost, Stine and her army of snowmen are filling in all of Santa's portals. Once that happens, all thoughts of saving Christmas will be gone, buried deep in the frozen ice and snow.

A glimmer of hope arrives from out of the chaos when Snegurochka, the Snow Maiden, manages to escape Stine's clutches using the mystical snowflake diamond.

Back at the North Pole, the situation appears hopeless until help arrives in a most unexpected way. In the midst of a blizzard Queen Mab's niece, the faery princess Mercy Meredith, comes out of the cold with the snowflake diamond and a plan to help them.

It won't be easy and it won't seem logical, but Needle is asked to put his faith in the power of the snowflake diamond. Despite initial skepticism and urged on by Flash, son of the famed reindeer Comet, he agrees. The head-elf's faith is put to an immediate test when the diamond chooses eight-year-old Mariah Prindle, leaving Needle with a tough decision. None of the other elves have faith in his plan, and only Flash offers to help him carry it out. With the reindeer as his guide, he must travel through one of Santa's secret portals in order to convince young Mariah to help them.

Join Needle, Mariah and Flash as they battle long odds and the evil Winter Stine in their quest to save Christmas.

Find the rest of the discovery here:

Book II: Fall to the Forest, front cover
Book III: Marsh Mayhem, front cover
Book IV: The Violet Hour, front cover
Book V: A Wish to Save Christmas, front cover